In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The betterment of the current system of transportation has always been a bone of contention worldwide. That is, while some people are of the opinion that countries should set aside budgets to build interstate bullet trains, others suggest that money should instead be poured into existing public means of transport. This essay will attempt to discuss both of these views and draw a conclusion. To begin with, it can be seen that high-speed rail lines between cities can be a marvellous solution to the current problematic traffic scene, especially in developed countries. This is because they offer a much faster means of transportation compared to conventional public ones, buses or coaches, for instance. Furthermore, as they run on a separate line, their extreme speed is not subjected to traffic jams or poor road infrastructure, which ensures minimal travelling time for passengers. The downside, however, is that this may present a monumental cost to the national budgets, as well as demand considerable technological know-how and urban planning in order to put such means of transport into practice. On the other hand, it is clear that spending money on existing public transport systems will be a safer and easier option for developing nations. The smaller investment and technological requirement of this option mean that the countries can still use their resources to develop other socioeconomic aspects of the countries, rather than find themselves deep in foreign debts when building new railway systems. Moreover, as buses and coaches have been the primary modes of public transport in developing for decades, they are much more accessible to the elderly and poorly educated, who now still constitute a large segment of these countries ’ populations. In conclusion, it is seen that both options can present various advantages and drawbacks, and are appropriate to certain countries ’ economic situation. Therefore, it is my belief that the government should be flexible and take into account their current state before choosing an option to improve their traffic