Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society: To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, social media become a new lifestyle for many people but it has a lot of negative impacts on personal and the community. Overall, I agree with the statement that this phenomenon could bring the public to have bad behaviour. In my opinion, the first reason, the public is using social media is to stay connected with their family and friends. It is due to the self-actualization of a human being during their lifespan. For instance, people in Indonesia usually spend time from five to ten hours a day accessing Facebook and Instagram, particularly during the pandemic of COVID-19. Moreover, children and the elderly also use this application to play a game or just to know more about current issues and public figures. On the other hand, sometimes society could not control and manage their time during using social media. It is such an interesting moment when people get many news and entertainment that interests them then finally they forget the priority. For example, a student in elementary school opens Facebook to comment on or stalk other people's life. However, it happens without any supervision from their parents. Moreover, on some occasions, I see many folks who use their smartphone while interacting with their colleagues. In addition, people decide to type their messages and send them by using social media rather than tell them directly to folk. In conclusion, many negative aspects that must be considered by individuals or communities when they use social media could contribute to social interaction impairment. Subsequently, well management should be run to focus on both social media and real daily living.