it is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that talented individuals are born this way and it can not be taught while others claim that any person can become good at sport or music if someone teaches him or her at an early age. There are certain physical conditions that favour an ability, for example, tall people are usually better at some sports such as basketball. Therefore, if this condition is in the person's genes, it can not be learnt. This is the main argument for believing that talent is something you are born with. Nevertheless, having those conditions is not enough and to become a talented individual, he or she would have to learn and practice that ability. After all, not every tall person is good at basketball. Additionally, if genetics were extremely important it would be much more common for children of talented people to inherit the same talent. There is a psychologist that decided to teach his future children to play chess to prove that talent is learnt. He had never played chess before so he started practising and then taught it to his 3 daughters. All of them were among the best female chess players of their age. The psychologist wrote a book telling his experience. This is considered the main prove that anyone can excel in anything if he or she practices enough. However, it is also known that many people tried very hard to become good at something without success. For instance, there are many actors that went to places such as Hollywood and even though they studied and practised acting they never achieved their dream of becoming a film star. To conclude, there are several factors that influence talent like physical conditions and the time spent practising and learning something. In my opinion, neither view can explain completely how a person can become good at something and that is probably because both of them are necessary conditions to achieve it.