Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that rapid expansion of supermarket in some countries, many small, local business are able to compete and local business will bring about the develop of local communities. However, I firmly believe that this expansion brings threats for local business in stead of chances. To begin with, supermarket expansion provide more choices for local consumers, which means local business have more competitor. Supermarket usually built in a large area with a huge scale and consumer benefits a lot from it. They have more choice from all over the world with import products or high-end brands that never appear before. And local brands also have more competitor, which are have a huge of investment from rich people all over the country. Making small business are downsizing their scale to operates efficiently. According to a recent survey in Donghoi, a small city in Vietnam, the appearance of a huge mall that makes the revenues of traditional market and business decreased up to 15 percent. Clearly that if small business does not do anything, they can be disappear in the future. On top of that, consumer have a tendency to using products from big company rather than small business. Since the third industrial revolution, products are being shiped from all around the world. In addition, globalization makes individuals generally want to buy an international products or even products that made by giant exclusively company. For instance, Laotian are usually attended by import products. They worship it and the result are their local or small company decline revenues significantly. This a popular example about the fame of big coperations. To sum up, supermarket expansion providing more choices for consumer and their fame also catching customers attention. For these reasons, it is clear that the expansion of supermarket brings the death of local business.