In some countries the government promotes public transport as the primary means of transportation, and discourages private vehicle ownership. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Around the globe, authorities prefer public transportation to private ones. The writer, however, advocates that the benefits of being cost-efficient as well as environmentally friendly totally outweigh the drawbacks of lacking personal space. It must be acknowledged that public transport is cost-saving. That is to say, when people travel long distances, with their car, they have to consider petrol cost since the fuel market now is exorbitant, therefore, it will cost individuals a significant amount of money to travel. Instead, citizens can use public transport such as buses because they have to pay a small budget to catch those vehicles and comfortably sit until they reach their destination. Thus, people can save money for other purposes such as shopping or entertainment. Public vehicles, moreover, are friendly to the surrounding environments. To be more specific, modern buses use green fuel, which does not contain any toxic components like CO2 that are harmful to the air. As a consequence, the more people use those vehicles, the less harmful gasses are emitted into the atmosphere, thus reducing the tendency of forming air pollution. Take Singapore as a prime example where most of the public automobiles here ulitize non-lead petrol, leading to the low rate of hazardous emissions. Some sceptics, however, justify that using public shipment is not comfortable. This belief is based on the fact that numerous individuals can take a bus, leading to the lack of space for passengers. This may be credible, but authorities are now subsidizing and purchasing additional buses so that the overcrowding on these service can be reduced. As a consequence, this will act as an incentive for society to take public transportation more. To conclude, the disadvantage of discomfort is outweighed by the advantages of saving money and being friendly to the atmosphere. Hence, it is more beneficial for governments to encourage citizens to adopt public transport.