The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

With the advancement of the film industry in the US, there are more or less impacts that other countries around the world have to bear, whether they are positive or negative. Some might argue that the local government should pay much attention to this issue by providing funds to develop the sector, and I particularly agree with this notion and will discuss my reasons in this essay. One of the most obvious ways to preserve a country's national culture and heritage is to exhibit its way of life and traditions in the form of drama or movies. Take Thailand as an example; its recent drama, entitled "Destiny," was a major hit, not only in Asia but in the US and European countries as well. As a result, many people around the world are well aware of Thailand's prosperous period of Ayudhya, particularly its cuisine and clothing. However, I am somehow sceptical about the idea of the government's use of funds to promote culture solely through the film industry. I personally believe that there should be other ways in addition to this method. One instance could be the use of influencers to talk about or illustrate a local culture on social media platforms. Another way is to encourage the locals to wear traditional clothes daily to display the way of life of a country if the custom is wearable on a daily basis. There are countless way for a country to protect its culture when there is a will from everyone to participate. In conclusion, I partially agree that a certain amount of government funding should be given to the film industry to conserve and preserve the culture of the country. However, I also believe that there are other alternatives, which the government could exercise, to develop its culture; those ways include the leverage of social media influencers and the normalisation of traditional clothes, among others.