in the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. with increased use of computers, the internet and smart phones, more and more people are starting to work from home. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The public usually needs to take public transportation and drive to their companies for jobs in past years. Many people start to work from home nowadays since the use of high technology in people ’s life. This essay will explain the benefits and drawbacks of working from home. One of the main advantages of working at home is that employees could save commute time to companion their families. Individuals do not need to waste time waiting for public transportation on the road, meeting traffic jams, driving and parking every day. For example, some workers usually take one or two hours to travel around to their workplace, and they will not have the energy to do activities with families when they get home. Moreover, people could save money by working at home since they do not need to pay petrol fees and parking fees. As a result, people could use the cost on other important things such as daily costs, house bills and food. However, the drawback of people working from home is that employees cannot focus on their work for a long time since the working atmosphere is very casual. Individuals could do many other things such as playing online games, watching television shows and chatting with their families without the supervision of company leaders and colleagues. For instance, some employees use their laptops to work at home, and they will distract by some interesting things from social media and cannot focus on their job for a long time. Also, individuals working at home do not have the chance to get along with their colleagues every day. In this way, people will lose the skill that working together with others. In conclusion, there are many positive things if employees work at home like saving time to companion their families and saving commute costs. However, this also creates some disadvantages such as many distractions and a decrease in communication skills and the ability to work in a team.