Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing(for eg. through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s era, the rapid influx of technology-based surveillance pieces of equipment like cellphones and security cameras are being utilized by individuals to monitor other people ’s actions without their knowledge.From my standpoint, this essay will elaborate on both the pros and cons of this phenomenon along with justified reasons and suitable instances. The introduction to the tech world has provided a plethora of benefits to everyone globally. It has contributed significantly to the security of both the nations as well as its citizens. In order to create a safe and secure zone, the use of these recording devices has risen considerably. For starters, the use of these devices monitors the illicit actions caused by the people. In several cases, people often engage in unjustified activities like stealing, vandalism of property, robbery, etc. This equipment records the entire act in order to catch the main culprit(s). Moreover, these security tools help out various safety and security organizations to locate and/or track the suspects involved in illegal acts. The advancement of technology has enhanced the field of artificial intelligence, which is making it easier to capture offender who hides in unidentified places. An example, in Delhi a recent hit and run accident that claimed the life of a resident occurred. The driver fled the scene leaving the victim behind. Because of the cameras, the police personnel were able to see the entire act in a video format along with the make and model of the car and were able to arrest the responsible criminal. However, there are some downfalls to this concept as well.In most cases, the advancement of technology is being used for negative purposes, leaving persons in the manifold at risk of being exposed. People often get recorded or tracked without their consent which leads to an invasion of their privacy. Additionally, this is followed by the leakage of the personal data of the respective individual. The access to data provides the hackers with information based on audio-visual form, which leads to cyber-based attacks. Furthermore, the concept of blackmail is also delved into here which has a degrading impact on the lives of the individuals and makes the innocent engage in wrongful acts. For example, a shopping complex in India made headlines, when a live microchip camera was found in one of its shop’s changing rooms. In conclusion, it is mandatory to use surveillance equipment to monitor the actions of people under restricted protocols. While it helps in developing a safe atmosphere for the people, it can also create a hazardous zone for them as well. Nonetheless, if suitable measures are implemented by the higher authorities, then it can be proven beneficial to acquire these tools for security purposes only.