It is often said "when in Rome, do as the Romans do". Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they are visit? do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

A pretty popular phrase “When in Rome, do as the Romans do” suggests that travelling to another country is not just exploring a new area, but also accepting their culture and history. In my perspective, it is not necessary to learn another language to learn history, as plenty of sources to learn in convenient language are available. First of all, showing respect for local traditions is crucial when visiting another country. Without understanding the historical background, tourists may unintentionally offend locals or cause misunderstandings. For instance, in Uzbekistan, the younger generation shows respect to elders by giving them seats on public transport. Tourists, which will fail to pass the seat, even unknowingly, may be perceived as disrespectful. Therefore, to avoid any misunderstandings and to foster positive relationships with citizens, it is important to be culturally aware. Gaining insight into a culture does not always require fluency in the local dialogue. In today’s digital era, a vast number of open sources with information in any speech are available, and the ability to use a smartphone is only needed. For example, websites such as Wikipedia provide understandable guidelines on how to behave appropriately in different regions, which travellers can learn without needing to learn the language. Therefore, with the amount of information available online, it is possible to understand a country’s perception without linguistic knowledge. In conclusion, while showing respect for local customs is essential to avoid misunderstandings and build positive relationships with locals, learning local language is not important due to the technological advances.