Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issues related to teenagers are always the top concern of the entire society. Some people believe that it is beneficial for more young adolescents to do compulsory volunteer community work. However, in my perspective, every teenager is unique and has his/her own way to be better, which means we need to combine various ways to help them to achieve a more promising future rather than a single fixed form. Frankly, every teenager needs guidance amid his/her own growth. Being required to commit to unpaid community work has some possibilities that may bring out the brighter side of each kid, such as being more caring and responsible. Examples of this mindset are numerous. For instance, plenty of delinquents in the US will be assigned to required social work after those hard times in jail to further realize that the peace and prospect of the community cannot be achieved without everyone’s efforts. Such an act therefore may be conducive to arising their sense of responsibility. But every coin has two sides. Trying to help teenagers by forcing them to do something that they may not like can have a totally reverse effect. As different teenagers have different characteristics, some of them may have their own way of better understanding the welfare of the community. For example, parents from increasing Chinese families are encouraging their kids to explore their own interests to fully develop them. This way can help those teenagers who might’ve been lost in the simple pleasure of causing damage to surrounding people to find the optimal way to fulfil their own social responsibilities. In conclusion, doing community work surely has some benefits to shaping one teenager into a better person. But it’s also important to understand that once these young souls find the right path, which can be gained through education or life lessons, they will play a greater role in building our society.