Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, some believe that we must have fixed punishments for crimes but others reckon that we must pay attention to other factors such as motivation and circumstances. In my opinion, it is best to consider all of the possible variables to decide. In this essay, both views will be discussed. To begin with, it is believed by some that it is best to have fixed punishments for each crime. For instance, countries like Iran and Turkey use this method and it is often helpful to inhibit corruption. To illustrate this, when the final decision depends on judges' opinions of the situation, their decisions will be biased. This shows that rigid rules are necessary to make sure that people get what they deserve. Therefore, fixed punishments can help the justice system stay fair. On the other hand, considering other factors like the motivation and the circumstances of committing a crime can aid judges to make the right decision. For example, some people might have health-related issues and make unwise decisions and this means that they are more likely to engage in illegal activities. This shows that there are cases that are more complicated than we might think. Thus, it is not fair to ignore the differences between a healthy criminal and a mentally ill criminal. To conclude, it is believed that using the same punishment for a specific illegal activity is the best way to handle criminals and others reckon that we must take all of the possible variables into consideration. In my view, we must pay attention to all of the factors to reach a sensible conclusion. Given the current circumstances, it is recommended to investigate the negatives of each view and try to resolve them.