It has been argued that we are living in a throw-away society in which people throw away what they use in daily life, instead of recycling or reusing it. Why has this happened and how can we address this problem?

With the advent of globalization, citizens are more likely to consume more latest gadgets than the elderly generation in the past. Various categories of commodities with a lower price made it possible for people to update their products more frequently and so more rubbish was thrown about. Besides that, I am convinced that bad-quality products are another crucial reason. Here are my suggestions about how to fix this issue. As far as I am concerned, one of the most noticeable reasons is that people have more choices in this globalised world, there are more desires in their minds now. For example, different brands launched their headphones in the marketplace, customers tend to collect more headphones because they have various features between individual brands, such as wireless headphones, Bluetooth headphones, portable headphones, etc. While there are fewer brands for people to choose from in the past, and so customers will cherish their headphone and not consume it at an alarming rate. Thus, I personally suggest people not to buy more than they need. Another potential cause is that more and more low-quality products were imported from other countries, and some products have less usage life span than before. To be specific, more and more manufacturers moved to southeast Asia to seek advantage of cheap labour, whereas, there is a lack of skilled workforce, which resulted in a higher damage rate outcome. For instance, it is common that people to complain their clothes, and socks were not as durable as before, and thus they have to change these basic necessities and throw them more often. My suggestion is that government should have strict regulations on imported products so that customers will benefit from them and there will be fewer environmental problems. In summary, the primary reasons why people are wasting and throwing more garbage than people in the past were that they likely to consume more products, and there are a large number of poor quality items sold in the marketplace. I hope people can balance their income and needs and reduce non-essential consumer behaviour, at the same time, the government should play a role in monitoring the marketplace to make sure people can order high-quality products.