Some people believe the purpose of education is to make people useful to society. Others believe it is to prepare them to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the importance of education. However, people hold different views about its purpose. Some individuals argue that the purpose of education is to help them reach their own goals. One of the main reasons is that students at school are able to acquire a great deal of academic knowledge, ranging from arts to science. At the same time, exposure to an environment full of peers is beneficial for them to learn how to communicate as well as interact with others, how to cooperate with partners and how to tolerate and tackle the difference. Both the professional knowledge and abilities obtained at school have positive effects on teenagers to walk into the workplace and society more smoothly, where they can achieve success and lead a better life. Others, however, think completely distinct and believe that the aim of education is to make adolescents contribute to the whole society. To be more specific, a high-quality workforce cultivated by education is essential to the development and progress of any nation, including culture, economy and science. For example, a distinguished doctor who graduated from a medical school is more likely to revolutionise existing medicines or develop a new vaccine to cure rare diseases, such as covid-19, to rescue more lives. Another example is that when a professional athlete from a physical education college wins a medal, it can strengthen every citizen’s sense of pride and identity. In conclusion, I consider that the goal of education is to achieve both: assisting individuals to succeed and making everyone be valuable to society. Thus, every student should cherish the opportunity of receiving an education and governments should also guarantee everyone is entitled to have access to schooling.