Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A large number of people dream of moving to live in another country. If the new country has a different language, it may lead to both difficulties in daily life as well as larger social issues. A newcomer who has just settled in a foreign country may face a wide range of practical problems. The most serious ones would be related to the lack of necessary communication skills. For example, when you just want to go somewhere and you need to ask for directions, it will be very hard for you to form a question and understand the answer. You may easily get lost and waste a lot of time. Sometimes you may need to fill in important documents written in a language you are unfamiliar with. Again, you will experience hard times translating and writing everything correctly. As culture and language are closely related, anyone who is yet to become fluent in a new language may be faced with culture shock. A Thai person may be shocked when a complete stranger in the US greets him/her/them totally informally and casually because Thai people tend to be reserved with words when strangers are around. Furthermore, these difficulties and misunderstandings can lead to serious issues in society. Recently there has been news about a sharp rise in racism in the US. A few Americans mistreat or even assault immigrants, especially those from Asia, saying that they do not speak English properly and so do not belong in their land. However, such behaviour is hardly observed in friendly countries like Thailand. Thais tend to be open-minded when it comes to cultural diversity. Even when you do not speak Thai, the native is still willing to talk to you and help you if you are in trouble. Therefore, whether the lack of language ability will cause social problems or not depends on the attitudes of the host people as well as many other factors. In summary, living in a country where you do not speak the local language can definitely result in various problems in your life. Nevertheless, it may or may not lead to bigger issues like social ones.