Crimes appear to be rising in most countries in the world, especially among young people. What the possible causes of this trend, and what solutions would be effective reducing crimes.

Worldwide, a number of criminal acts are principally jumping up among the youth. Although there are various factors to perpetrate a crime, I believe there are two main causes associated with the increasing crimes, and also two practical actions we can take. Perhaps one major reason is a consequence of domestic violence or child abuse. Not only can psychological and physical injuries bring lifelong damage, but also motivate them having a criminal motive when they were a very young age. For example, it frequently appears that children who live with violence become violent people as they grow up. Another point to consider is a negative peer pressure which plays a pivotal role in young people. Let us expand on this point a little. Young people are more likely to engage in risky situation or violent behaviors when they act as a group. In many cases, people who would not be aggressive or violent on their own often feel empowered when in a group. As a result, they undoubtedly violate the law so as to maintain their place in the group. Turning to possible solutions, reducing the number of unintended pregnancies can be the best approach for against child abuse since parents mostly neglect unwanted kids. If the parents both wanted to have children, they would not abuse them; moreover, the child would not grow up as a criminal. For example, one statistic showed legalized abortion is estimated to have reduced violent crime by 47 percent. Another solution can be teaching communication skills, meaning that train young people with a useful strategy that can be an essential tool against peer pressure such as saying “No”, and how to back up the no with a positive statement so on. Taking both points into consideration, intimate partner violence and peer pressure mostly tend to cause criminal offences; therefore, decreasing unplanned pregnancies and training young people how to stay safe from negative pressures may help lessen the crimes.