Many people think that countries have a moral obligation to help each other, while others argue that aid money is misspent by the governments that receive it and therefore international aid should not be given to poor countries. Discuss these two points of view and give your opinion.

Recently, there are lots of arguments that whether the developed or rich countries have to help the poor countries or it is unnecessary to support the developing countries due to misspent of these amounts of money. I mainly agree with the former argument that high-income countries should help others. We cannot, however, ignore the second argument as well. First, it is obvious that without the help of developed nations, people in the low-income ones may not be able to access the basic services for human life such as freshwater, food and so on. In addition, it may also be beneficial for them to provide assistance to the poor ones. For example, they can move their factories to poor nations in order to exploit the cheaper labour force. As a result, they are able to not only save labour costs and maintain high-quality products made in their hometown but also help the developing countries reduce the unemployment rate and boost their economies as well. Of course, there exist lots of issues in these low-income countries, and one of these problems is misspending the money from the developed countries. For example, there are lots of functionaries are putting into prison due to the corruption in the East-West avenue project of South Vietnam in 2011 which is supported by the Japanese government. It, however, is just a minority compared with the huge benefits from those cooperation projects. In a nutshell, the help from international in the first world is clearly useful for the ones in the third world as it improves people’s living standards in those received helping nations. Nevertheless, it is also necessary to issue a stronger law or punishment for using this money for inappropriate purposes.