Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

People argue that patriotism causes adversity, thus considered a negative trait overall. Meanwhile, supporters of the idea of loving while exhibiting immense loyalty to their own country is an advantage to the entire society. In this essay, I would like to point out the benefits of being patriotic, while expounding on how they outweigh some of their drawbacks. One of the disadvantages of being a patriot is the ability to understand and see things clearly; you have a strong sense of appreciation for your country's strength, but you also recognised its weak side, and you cannot be clouded by it. The more you acknowledged both sides, the more likely you become a good valuable citizen. For instance, a student of legal age may not contribute to the industry in terms of labour, but they use their voice to advocate human welfare and good governance, Moreover, they think ahead of how they can aid the state once they become more capable to extend help. Indeed, recognising your homeland's entire condition will encourage you to respond positively. Individuals who extremely show loyalty to their state seem to be unaware of how insensitive and obnoxious they can be just to lift their country's image and status, however a genuine loyalist does not divide but unites all citizens regardless of their background and cultural differences. A person who compares people by race and origin is viewed as a disrespectful human being. In conclusion, patriotism can be either positive or negative and surreal it has some drawbacks like awareness of your country's strengths and weaknesses and defending it in a sensitive way by comparing it to an inferior country. On top of all, these weaknesses are minor as compared to the impactful effects of a citizen who become a worthy and valuable individual and initiate unity for the greater good.