Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar; which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that food and drink with high levels of sugar can lead to many health issues. Some people argue that the prices of these products should be regulated to be even higher than they currently are in order to let people have a healthier consumption. In my opinion, however, I completely disagree with this argument, and I think there are various ways can tackle the problem. On the one hand, I believe that sugary products should not be made more expensive for two main reasons. Firstly, most people have their own sense of consumption, which means that they have their own habits about what they eat and drink. Therefore, making prices more expensive will not have any impact on their consumption. Secondly, many people might not be aware that they are having sugary products. The rising costs to buy these products will only make people feel that inflation has become more and more severe recently, thus causing a negative outcome. On the other hand, there are more effective ways to discourage people from consuming high- sugar products. For instance, manufacturers should have a clear disclosure of ingredients in their products on the labels. People will consume less sugar if they witness that the food or drink they have contains such high amounts of sugar. But I think the most pragmatic approach is that food and drink companies should aim at producing fewer products with high levels of sugar. In conclusion, I believe more expensive prices will not discourage people from sugary products, and there are more practical means to address this problem.