Nowadays there is a growing trend of private car ownership. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages with the environmental problems associated with this

there is an emerging trend of owning a personal transportation medium in the contemporary world. Despite few positive impacts on nature, it is widely criticised for its effect on our biodiversity. The positive side of using self-owned vehicles for travelling is that it reduces the exploitation of natural elements. Massive infrastructures for public transport are built by disrupting nature. However, with the introduction of personal vehicles, the repercussion to the environment has declined. For example, during the 18th century, railway tracks are usually built by eradicating massive woodland. Subsequently, exploitation of wilderness has dramatically dropped with the demand for private transportation increasing. On the other hand, an increase in personal vehicles will simultaneously promote carbon emissions which is the root cause of the natural calamity. Most cars run on fossil fuels which plays a pivotal role in global warming. To illustrate further, Toyota confirmed that the highest number of crude oil engines were manufactured in the last few years which is the main reason for ice melting in Antarctica. Furthermore, owning an automobile may cause sound pollution in the nearby vicinity. The surge in the number of vehicles running on the road will be a disturbance for all living species. For instance, a survey reports that certain vertebrates living in urban areas have become extinct because of excessive noise which is from automobiles. Based on the above, I believe that owning a personally financed travel medium has an adverse impact on the planet we live on. In conclusion, owning a private car has the benefit of contributing to preserving natural habitats. However, it has multiple negative effects based on the nuisance to animals and harm to the atmosphere.