In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary epoch, youth are often taught that they can reach their aspirations if they exert some effort. However, despite that this is something that can be seen as advantageous, it can cause some downsides. Thus, this essay will be demonstrating both positives and negatives of this phenomenon as well as my contention. On the one hand, some traditional thinking emphasizes the importance of pragmatism. To illustrate, if some juveniles overestimate their potential, they may endure the agony of disappointment later in life when their achievements do not meet their goals. An eminent example of this is in Egypt when some secondary school graduates, especially females, do not get the same grades that they hoped they will get, and as a, result they may commit suicide. Hence, being realistic in terms of goals and abilities does not only help to draw achievable plans, but also helps to avoid sudden malignant psychological effects. On the other hand, there is no doubt that giving young students hope and convincing them to believe in themselves can help them later on to do remarkable achievements. In other words, when adolescents set to themselves enormous dreams, they exert more effort in order to reach them and thus will be more productive. This can be exemplified by some athletes such as Cristiano Ronaldo, who managed to win the award of best footballer in the world serval times because he worked hard and exercised heavily. Consequently, it can be observed that setting the bar high for themselves can increase the productiveness of the pupils. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the abovementioned points it can be reiterated that although being logical and rational is a much-needed feature for raising youth, it is also useful from time to another to aspire for remarkable achievements if the person is willing to work hard enough in order to reach his or her ambitions.