The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last years. Discuss the causes and effect of this issue disturbing trend.

Statistics showed that the number of obese children has grown by nearly 20% in the western nations last year. In this essay, I am going to discuss the reasons and results of this worrying trend. Firstly, there are two major issues associated with childhood obesity which are unbalanced diet and insufficient sleep. In this fast-paced generation, fast food becomes the top choice for kids when they are hungry because it is tasty and convenient. Nonetheless, consuming too much fatty food and beverages that are high in sugar can cause diabetes and heart problems. Moreover, children now stay up late due to their addiction to mobile games. Inadequate sleep leads to inefficient metabolism, thus, fat gradually compiles in our body. These two problems are the main negative impacts on the physical health of children. Secondly, being overweight can have long-term effects on children ’s mental health and learning abilities. Some kids get bullied or mocked at school simply due to their body shape, this can lead to low confidence and hardship in building self-esteem, or even worse, depression. Besides, obesity also results in low concentration, and lack of energy, as a consequence, children can not pay attention to the class, hence, perform worse in their studies and lose interest in learning. In conclusion, childhood obesity can be a serious problem for our society since our children are the pillars of the future. This not only can damage kid’s physical health but also impair their mental status. These potential long-term harm to children should be seriously confronted.