Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary epoch, a large number of workers prefer to work on their own rather than be hired by an employer, and this is largely explainable by the many advantages of it. However, this also may carry some downsides with it. Thus, this essay will be demonstrating the reason for that as well as my contention. On the one hand, being a freelancer gives the person flexible working hours as well as a fair paycheck. To illustrate, if an autonomous employee, who gets paid according to the number of designs that he finishes, spends more time doing tasks, he will then get more things done, and thus will increase his paycheck. This can be exemplified by many freelance websites such as Upwork and Freelancer, on which there are a plethora of software developers, graphic designers and translators who utilize it to earn money, and they benefit from the ease and profitability of the platform. Hence, working for one's own business does not only provide a convenient schedule but also enhances his salary. On the other hand, there are definitely some concerns when it comes to depending on oneself, one of which is job security. In other words, when an individual does not have a firm to work for, he faces the risks of the market alone, which may not be reliable from time to time. Moreover, if a month passes without enough customers, he may find himself without a satisfying salary. An eminent example of this is a CNN report about a family in Canada, which sells maple syrup, that has faced the risk of bankruptcy after all of its sales that were planned to be sold in Saudi Arabia have been cancelled due to a trade embargo. As a result, it can be said that having a family company can involve a myriad of risks. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the abovementioned points, it can be reiterated that even though having a private business is advantageous, it is also not a guaranteed method to earn money. However, it is absolutely worthy in the right situation.