Many governments spend a lot of money on art. Some people think this investment in art is necessary, but others say the money is better spent on improving health and education. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Art is an important part of one's culture and history. Some people argue that the government budget should be spent on the betterment of health and education while others favour spending on arts is equally important. This essay will discuss both views and I believe that this funding should be a priority for the enhancement of the medical and education systems. Those who support art funding usually argue that it is necessary to maintain a healthy art scene. The benefit of funding arts is keeping culture, local artists and history alive. They feel this is important because if there is no help from the government the local artists, theatres and history will be lost eventually. For example, local museums storing valuable ancient crafts or theatres with high overhead costs would not be able to sustain with just sales from door tickets. Furthermore, they feel funding aboriginal communities' artwork centres would help them develop their professional skills, and earn income and the next generation would get the chance to carry on the age-old artistic skills. And this investment these craft bodies may not survive. There are others, however, myself included, who feel that these fears are unfounded and that taxpayers' money would be more wisely spent on services that benefit the entire society. There are several reasons for spending a significant amount of state support on the advancement of health and education. First and foremost, these services determine our quality of life. For example, if the state does not spend enough on these hospitals, as a result of this, the health of our society may decline. Furthermore, schools can use this funding to update their facilities, hire more staff and improve their resources. These are the services used by every citizen and in many cases, severely underfunded. In conclusion, though state support of artwork has been a long tradition, there are clear benefits of ensuring a large amount of investment goes into the public sector as this influences quality of life for all of us.