Some people think that punishment is the best way of teaching children to behave well. Others believe that it is better to reward children for good be haviour. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary era, a growing number of individuals believe that punishment in educating children is the best way to make them obedient while others hold the idea that rewarding children is better. Personally, I am convinced that the combination of punishment and reward is the best way to teach children and this essay will explain both sides. First and foremost, the main reason why a number of individuals hold that idea is retribution helps children recognize right and wrong behaviour after they cause a consequence. Moreover, punishment can help build discipline and self-control, based on fear of bad consequences. However, only marginal punishments should be applied and children should not be punished by violence so that children are more aware of their behavior. For instance, a number of Asian parents apply light suffering to their children such as confiscating a child's favourite item or punishing them without watching TV for a day so that they remember their mistakes and do not make them again. On the other hand, rewarding children is also a very good act of educating children. Some people believe that rewarding children for being obedient will give them more motivation and help them build self-discipline, rather than fear of punishment. However, rewards sometimes also need to be accompanied by punishment when children do wrong. They need to improve self-awareness and the ability to recognize wrong or right. For illustration, when children get good grades, teachers and parents will reward them with praise to motivate them, then younger individuals will be motivated to study better. In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that older generations should combine punishment and reward to teach children in the best way.