In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

According to some cultures, children should be taught that hard work will help them achieve their goals. From my perspective the advantages of this practice certainly overweigh the disadvantages as teaching children to pursue their dreams can make them more motivated and mentally stronger. However, before teaching about it to all children some disadvantages such as demotivation and lack of confidence should be considered. On the one hand, the main advantage of teaching children to overcome their limits with effort is the possibility to give them the motivation to change their current circumstances in life. For instance, in Brazil, one of the best ways of overcoming poverty is through studies, which is challenging and time-consuming, when children understand that hard work results in success and can change their life, they could stay motivated during difficult times. Moreover, the valorization of discipline helps children to develop a positive mentality and improve their resilience, all of which are necessary for their adult life. On the other hand, one of the biggest disadvantages of teaching that effort alone is enough to achieve everything the child wants is that he can make them spend much time pursuing the goal that hard-working plays little role. For example, for kids who want to be a professional singer or a soccer player, even though they spend a lot of time and money in classes, and put effort without natural talent, their dream is unlikely to happen. Thus, believing that hard work alone is enough to achieve all desires can breed frustration, delusion, or even mental illness. In conclusion, teaching children that hard work will always result in success is a great way to motivate them and build resilience. However, it is important to explain that in some situations hard work is not the key.