Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Advertisement plays a crucial role in convincing the public to purchase a targeted product. Although advertising has been proven considerably successful to a large extent, individuals believe that it is now too rampant that it has become highly negligible by the masses. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide evidence as to why advertising will remain an important aspect in the world of marketing. For centuries, advertisement has been a major aspect of marketing either through Tv, radio or social media platforms and it has produced substantial results. This could be a result of the "hypnotic effect" that repetitive commercial causes. It forces the public to want to purchase something they never knew they needed. For example, a commercial for a snack could stir up cravings and one may be forced to go out to buy the snack. For these reasons, broadcasts may continue to stand the test of time and not become obsolete However, with the increasing prevalence of display which comes in all forms, people are getting sick and tired, no matter how subtle the ad may have been presented. Take, for instance, a popular social media platform 'YouTube', YouTube bombards its users with ads by placing them strategically at the beginning and in between videos. Most families,in fact, do not hesitate to use the 'skip ads' button which defeats the purpose of such, as hardly anyone is paying attention. To conclude, I believe that even if some advertisements could be burdensome, they, however, possess the ability to convince people into buying things. Therefore in order for advertisements to fulfil their purpose, it has to be designed and presented in the best way possible.