Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching younger children) To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain individuals argue that non-profit socially beneficial activities should be made mandatory in school education. I completely agree with this statement. This essay will explain with reasons and examples for my opinion. Firstly, students are at the optimum age to start their community service, since it will help develop their personalities. Committing to charity work and educating underprivileged kids, makes young adults self-aware of their society and they will act according to the needs of the community. For instance, kids in Japan actively participate in charity work from their schools. These kids grew up to be more helpful and respectful to others, than the kids who did not grow up in Japan. Furthermore, these activities can ultimately help improve one's community. Cleaning the neighbourhood is a great example. A clean neighbourhood will have fewer crimes and better business. However, others may argue that the kids at this age should focus on studies only. Admittedly much time will be diverted from students for these activities. But this will not affect the teenagers much, as they are studying real-world experiences. Also, there is an element of danger, when children are out doing social work as they are much more vulnerable to crimes. This can be avoided by an adult always accompanying and guiding them during those hours In conclusion, I strongly believe that unpaid community service should be part of high school programmes. This will help students become self-aware and learn about compassion for others. Also, this will help society to improve.