Some parents think that children should be the best at everything they do, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Parental roles are considered to be the prime factors for children's development. Although some parents claim that their offspring should be capable of doing everything perfectly, others totally disagree with this opinion which will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, some parents feel that excellent performance in doing everything such as studying or acquiring certain skills is essential for children to survive in today's competitive world. In addition, in today's market labour it is quite challenging to find white-collar jobs as they require candidates to have a great many skills and a high level of academic performance. Working as a teacher, for instance, requires a range of skills such as interpersonal, active listening, interacting and motivating skills but also a high level of knowledge of certain kind of subject which he or she teaches and computer skills. Thus, these parents believe that the more skills children obtain, the more successful they will be in future. On the other hand, the opponents of this concept, claim that children should have freedom in choosing what to learn. Perhaps, the reason behind this might be that if children have the ability, talent and enthusiasm for certain kinds of skills or even professions, it is more realistic and quicker to achieve successfully. Another reason for their belief is that children are more likely to lose their self-esteem and confidence if they could not manage to learn some skills or subjects which are beyond their interest. This can be seen in many prominent celebrities who actually graduated in other fields such as Law or Science but they were able to pursue their careers in acting or music spheres. Hence, the more dedication and devotion children have, the more quickly they learn new skills and subjects. In conclusion, having considered all, I totally agree with parents who support and give freedom to their children to choose which skills or subjects they learn, instead of forcing them to learn things which are beyond their ability and understanding.