In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

Being a student in your hometown can feel different from being a student abroad. Weighing the pros and cons of living away from home is a matter of personal preference and personality type. First of all, student life could be the first step toward mature life. Living with your family or apart depends mostly on the university's geolocation. Personally, I attended the university in my hometown and lived with my parents. From the pros, I did not have any emotional discomfort changing the city or country. Furthermore, I did not have any stress related to my accommodation, being used to the city. However, I did not feel much like a student because I stayed with my family. On the other hand, being a student from another city or country may be much more exciting. The experience of student life might feel different. The impact of moving to another place, the accommodation, and the interaction with colleagues should feel closer to mature life. However, for some individuals, this might be very stressful. Especially these kinds of changes, where one must adapt to new surroundings and a new schedule. All of the above are benefits if the person is extroverted and does not have problems with making new friends. But if you are introverted, this kind of adaptation may take more time than usual, as a result, it might be stressful, and one could want to give up, not being able to face the outcome. In conclusion, living away from your home during university could outweigh the disadvantages only if you can deal well with stressful situations.