In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In today’s world where we live, directing young people to the right passage and achieving their goals are essential duties of parents. The message that everything is possible after hard work, is absorbed by children in some nations. This belief has both benefits and drawbacks for the young generation which will be argued in this essay. On the one hand, nobody can deny that motivation is one of the advantages of delivering the aforementioned expression to children. To be more precise, children might be more motivated if they achieve desired results as a consequence of excessive work which in turn, pushes them to seek new targets and to make more efforts for further successes. Excellent reading skills of school pupils, for instance, could be achieved due to the daily reading for a longer time and analysis of the book content every single day. This trend can also make the younger generation be resilient to real-life challenges and develop new skills to overcome them wisely which is another positivity of this statement. Therefore, the above-mentioned saying is quite beneficial for adolescents. On the other hand, it is hard to designate that convincing children via a message that states that they can be successful if they work hard, has its own downsides. Firstly, this might affect detrimentally to the psychology of children. This is because there are certain realities that are unimaginable to attain even though by doing a great many efforts. Take travel to the Sun as an example, it is ridiculous to happen in reality but children are quite simple and consider that this can be happened by working hard. As a result, children would become more susceptible to mental issues such as depression, the sense of loss and frustration resulting even in their suicide if they fail to achieve their desires. Hence, the detrimental impact of this proverb should not be ignored. In conclusion, in some parts of the world, the young generation is convinced that they can be more successful if they do more efforts which has certain positive results in terms of motivation and excellent preparation of the younger generation for the struggles in the real life, while it has negative psychological effects on their development. However, having considered all aspects, I believe that it yields more positive results in their further prosperity.