Many people are copying celebrities from magazines and on TV. Why this happening? Do you think it’s a good idea to copy celebrities?

It is hard to deny that in today's society where we live the majority of individuals especially the young generation is imitating superstars from the mass media. Certain reasons for why this is happening around us and the detrimental impacts of this trend will be enlightened in this essay. To begin with, these days adolescents are copying celebrities due to some factors. Fame and the unique appearance of renowned people are pushing factors for teens as they are more prone to be influenced. In order to beautify themselves and to attract others, teenagers follow to wear brand clothes, jewellery or hairstyles which are used by celebrities. Furthermore, the luxurious lifestyles of famous figures also attract the attention of the youth which in turn, urges them to spend a larger amount of money on organising parties such as birthdays and weddings in a luxurious way. Therefore, the aforementioned reasons for why imitation of superstars among teenagers should not be ignored. However, there are several negative influences of this trend that should be into consideration. Firstly, the young generation is spending a great deal of money on expensive garments, jewellery, hairstyle, make-up and aesthetic operations. As a result, all spending is causing a lack of money for their essential daily items which is resulting in stress-related issues including a sense of frustration, depression or even suicide of them. Moreover, they are putting their life under threat because of experiencing a range of cosmetic procedures. Unfortunately, some of them are not successful to achieve their desired appearance and are losing their real beauty accordingly which is another cause of suicide among teenagers. One girl from Iran, for instance, experienced countless operations for being similar to Angelina Jolie but, instead her appearance is turned into one of the scary vampires. In fact, her appearance was quite beautiful until these operations. Thus, I do not support the way that the young generation imitates prominent people as there are negative consequences behind this. In conclusion, sparkling fame, attractive appearance and the luxurious lifestyle of celebrities are the main stimulators for youth to copy them which has negative impacts on both the psychology and finance of the youth.