Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little that can be done to rectify this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world where we live, invading in forms of printed and broadcasted, the mass media has become an indispensable part of our life. The fact that the media has an influential power in shaping one’s mind is undeniable. The majority of people claim that the opinions and attitudes of people can be controlled by the individuals who operate the media and this is hardly possible to reduce this problem. I support partially this belief because of some reasons which will be enlightened in this essay. On the one hand, nobody can deny that it is hard to control the views and attitudes of well-educated people. Spending a great deal of time obtaining deeper knowledge and information, they are less exposed to the influence of the news, as they are easily able to sort out whether the media coverage is biased or unbiased. Furthermore, thanks to the internet, by pressing a button one can have access to unlimited information which in turn, enables him or her to differentiate which information is reliable or not. This has been proven by the statistics which stated that owing to the availability of the internet, today’s people are lesser controlled by the media than our ancestors who had lived in previous decades. Therefore, the effect of the media on people who are well-educated and computer-literate has considerably declined this decade. On the other hand, it is generally known that broadcasted and printed types of media have been still common among the older generation. This is because they are unable to use modern gadgets such as smartphones, tablets and computers for access to social media. Therefore, the old people are mostly affected by the media as they have no opportunity to sift the information. In addition, because of not gaining enough knowledge and having less strong perceptions, less-educated individuals and the young generation are noticeably vulnerable to the impact of the media. Take children as an example, they are mostly victims of terrorists who use them as weapons of propaganda via social media. Hence, the vulnerability of less-educated individuals and adolescents to the impact of mass media should not be ignored. In conclusion, the media is believed to be an influential power in changing one’s views and attitudes in today’s society. But, I believe people are influenced by the media according to their age group and the level of knowledge that they gained. While individuals who are well-educated and have the knowledge of using modern gadgets are hardly controlled, others including blue-collar workers, and older and younger generations are mostly prone to be controlled by the media.