Some people believe that it is good to share a much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Other believe that some information is too important or too valuablr to be shared freely.

It is a common belief that it brings positive effects when people share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. However, I firmly believe that some information should be kept a secret since it can be too important or valuable to be shared freely. In the following paragraphs, I will briefly explain my view on this topic. Every company has its weakness and strength. On the one hand, it is true that technology can improve faster when companies share information and work together. By working together, the companies will develop faster compared to working on their own. For example, in the electric car market, three different companies held hands together working on an electric car by working on different types of parts. As a result, the work efficiency increased considerably by 60 per cent. This shows that when companies share information or work together, it can bring efficiency. Nevertheless, some information is too important to be shared because it can create a competitor. Information can be technology, and it is precious when it is hidden. However, if other companies have that information, it will be no longer be unique. One clear example is that the company ‘apple’ company lost approximately 70 per cent of its profit when important information got leaked. This is because a competitor company developed this technology as well, and it became a typical technology when it was apple’s technology. To sum up, while it is apparent that a business can expand faster by sharing information, it is undeniable that keeping the information on its own is more important.