Some people think that it is beneficial for children to play games online, while others think that it can be harmful for children. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Offspring have been playing games throughout history. They have played games online since the invention of computers and mobile devices. Although internet gaming is thought by some to be advantageous for offspring, others think it can be detrimental. In my opinion, I think that multiplayer network games can bring more problems for kids compared to any advantages. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of children playing games online. Firstly when a child plays internet computer games, he develops problem-solving skills. In fact, there are many games to choose from where players must strategically think about what they must do to win the games. For instance, in the online game Total War: Warhammer 3, the player must survive battles by choosing the right weapons to defeat the foe, setting up defences to protect oneself, and attacking at the right moment. Hence, children develop cognitive skills in pursuit of winning the game, which many people believe is an adventitious exercise for young minds. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe youngsters could face serious drawbacks from digital games. One potentially dangerous issue is that computer online games are addictive. In fact, nowadays, offspring have been spending too much time sitting in one place and looking at the screen for too long. Many of them can’t live without online games. As a result, they give up other previously enjoyed activities and social relationships and get poor academic performances at school. Another obvious issue is that playing games on the internet may damage kids’ health. Youngsters become overweight or obese from not enough physical activity because they are engrossed in online activities for long periods of time. In addition, bright, and flashing games damage kids’ eyes from looking at the screen for too long. Many kids eventually succumb to vision correction and must wear glasses. Thus, internet gaming damages both players’ mental health and players’ physical health. In conclusion, the health consequences of internet games far outweigh any of the minor benefits that could result from children playing games online. Many youngsters enjoy multiplayer network games, and it is up to the parents to make the best decisions for their offspring.