Some people say it is manufactures and supermarkets responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of products they sell and others say it is the consumers responsibility to avoid buying products with too much packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, people have started giving thoughts on environmental safety, some argue that goods need to be lightly packed in industries and superstores while others say that customers should avoid purchasing those goods which are heavily packed. Firstly, manufacturers and supermarkets should not add too much packaging as it will not only increase the product cost but also increases the shipment weight. Secondly, consumers should prioritize the products which are environmentally friendly and boycott those which have too much plastic or paper packaging. Rather than spending money on proper packaging content, industrialists try to find alternative and quick ways to pack the final goods. This generally happens when proper planning is not done for the products they are delivering. But in doing so, they not only increase the burden on customers for higher product cost but also increases the shipment dimensions which ultimately leads to the requirement of larger warehouse space. For example, Amazon.com, one of the top eCommerce companies, ships mobile phones in large boxes instead of creating custom size boxes. This will tend to increase the shipment cost and in addition to that, the customer gets an additional responsibility to dispose of the boxes properly. Secondly, customers should also take responsibility for saving the environment and should focus on more environmentally friendly packaging like paper bags, or reusable bags. This can be achieved if they start carrying their own bags in the supermarket, which will lead to less consumption of plastic bags. They should understand the importance of the product rather than look at the packaging. For example, if they get an option to buy raw food in paper bags which doesn’t look as fancy as compared to plastic bags with laser printing, they should focus on the quality of the food instead of the packaging. To conclude, I would say that both manufacturers and consumers need to be equally responsible to reduce the packaging amount. In addition to that, Government should also create policies for industrialists to use organic packaging materials and should ban plastic for the safety of the environment.