Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views about what should be the primary environmental challenge in our era. Some people argue that the major issue is about the declining biodiversity while others feel that there are more principal challenges than the loss of certain species. Although there are some justifications for the former point, I would agree with the latter one. I will address both sides with this essay and give my own opinion. Initially, it can be argued that preventing the absence of more and more animals is vital. As we all know, each specie plays an irreplaceable role in the biological chain. The lack of one kind can lead to overspill/ripple effects on other concerning animals, including plants, the entire ecosystem and finally back to humans themselves. For example, the massive death of minor creatures even coral reefs means the possibility of worsening seawater conditions and less necessary sea products for local people. Consequently, it can be disastrous if we ignore the protection of various species. However, compared to cases like this, there are certainly more pressing challenges before us. For example, the Arctic amplification phenomenon, which means the original ice that reflects heat is now replaced by the dark sea that restores abundant heat and brings us looming issues like the rise of sea level that forces thousands of people to move away. It does not mean less seafood or bad water condition is not crucial but there are both more impactful and urgent predicaments that can take people’s lives right away. In conclusion, this essay boils down to one essential point, which is only through overall efforts in every aspect can the environmental situation become better.