In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study aboard. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Education is essential to everyone. Higher education, such as university, has been a tough choice for a long time because it will define your future career. There is a debate whether it is better to learn in your country or study abroad. In my opinion, it is better to go abroad since there will be more opportunities. On one hand, staying in your home country could be beneficial. In most cases, government usually subsidize some of the tuition fees for local education. International students most likely pay more for the same course. This could save plenty of your savings since staying at home can significantly reduce your expenses. There is also easier to adapt to new environment since it’s a home country. The culture would not be much different to your home town. On the other hand, going abroad is an excellent choice. Although the cost of living is much higher, it is still worth it. Experiencing new culture can give you a wider point of view. Being abroad also force you to learn some necessary skill. These skills may be required when facing a complicated issue. Making new friend also create a useful connection. Besides, if you go to a country that a national language is different from yours, you will learn to speak their language. Being bilingual can be an advantage in a working life. In my life, I was once an exchange student and the experience I received is fabulous. In summary, staying in a home land can be advantageous because the cost of living is usually lower than going abroad. Nevertheless, I prefer going abroad because the experience is worth the money spent.