Putting criminals into prisons is not an effective way to deal with them. Instead, education and job training should be offered. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the rising number of criminals, some people think it is better to give these criminals access to education and jobs, instead of putting them into prisons. I do agree with this statement because doing so, means that they are given a chance to do good and prepare for their integration with the rest of the community. To begin with, it is important to understand that people who commit a crime still can repent from their mistakes. Therefore giving them a chance to prove that they are trying to be better is a logical solution. For instance, pushing these individuals to have education or training jobs offered is necessary. Research conducted by professionals has shown that a large amount of people in prison do think about changing their lives, by looking for options that their prisons offer. Moreover, in the Netherlands, many prisons are empty because of the fact that they have more freedom in prisons to get these opportunities and therefore more chance to integrate back into the community. Finally, research has shown that lately, more and more prisoners are people between 20 and 40 years old. Due to this, it is necessary to give them access to education, job training and more activities to create a positive influence on them. In conclusion, Giving prisoners and criminals the chance to prove that they can be better and ready to integrate into the community is a very important aspect that governments should overweight.