In the past, many people had skills such as making their own clothes and doing repairs to things in the house. In many countries, nowadays, skills like these are disappearing. Why do you think this change is happening? How far is this situation true in your country? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is true that general skills like making clothes and repairing things are disappearing in contemporary society contrasting with the past. This essay is going to illustrate why this trend is spreading in the world and how is the situation in my country. Economic prosperity and technological advancement are the most vital two factors that cause the disappearance of this household skillset. In the past, many people didn’t have sufficient disposable income to support them to do anything they needed. They had to learn a range of living skills so that they could save their money. But thanks to the growth of the economy, people have changed their lifestyles because they become more affluent today. Also, with the improvement of technology, productivity has increased compared to decades ago, which leads to the price of clothes and some small appliances dropping. Therefore, buying clothing or new appliances might be a preferred option for some families. In addition to the above two reasons, there is another important pivotal contributing to this tendency in my country. Domestically, overtime work now is a severe problem for many workers and most of them are not able to ensure proper rest. Sacrificing spare time to waste on these general kinds of stuff would not be a wise decision for them. Giving an example, according to a recent survey conducted by Beijing University, 90% of individuals between the ages of 25 and 60 in Beijing prefer calling a professional door-to-door service over repairing home disturbances on their own. In conclusion, economic expansion, Technological progress, and busy lifestyles are the main reasons behind the phenomenon of home economic skills vanishing throughout the world and also in my country.