In many societies in the world, the population is aging rapidly and this is leading to an unsustainable increase in the cost of public healthcare. A nation’s population should pay for their healthcare provision in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In several societies across the globe, the community is rapidly ageing which is leading to a heightened escalation in the finances of the public healthcare sector. People in manifold believe that they should pay for their own well-being. From my standpoint, this essay will justify the reasons for the disagreement with the former statement along with suitable reasons and relevant examples. The boom in the population rise along with increased life expectancy has generated senior citizens in vast numbers. In order to give the aged citizens a few more years to live, there has been an immense investment in the medical industry making it more advanced.  An example, in India, BLK hospital was the country’s first hospital to conduct a successful robot surgery with the help of doctors. However, aged people encounter various health-related issues with their weak immune systems, who become vulnerable and require a professional to look after them.  The major drawback of this problem is the expensive payment. Consequently, the aged people who are hospitalized are often tense about the payment procedure. Being at such a crucial age, this phenomenon becomes a liability for them, mostly for reasons that they are unemployed. The seniors of the society don’t have any means to earn income as they can’t provide their skills in the late stage of their lives.  Inevitably, this leads them to withdraw funds from their own savings. The money that they had accumulated for a major crisis gets spent. Nevertheless, they can’t blow their savings entirely on their healthcare, as they have to cover other aspects of their lives with it. Along with that, they also have to fend for their families with the remaining collection of funds after they pass away. The authorities should take the responsibility to look after the elderly of the community. For example, the HOPE Foundation India- Health of Privileged Elders, released a policy to help out the elders with their hospitalization fees, up to 5 lakhs. In conclusion, it can be stated that elder citizens can’t afford to pay for themselves as it is a tedious task for them and being at such a stage of life they can’t utilize their skills. However the Government can subsidize the costs of hospital admission for the elderly and release schemes and policies related to them in order to make the remaining years of their lives comfortable.