In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Most people spend a great deal of time in a particular home. It is becoming a trend, in some parts of the world, to know more about the history of the place someone lives in. This essay will discuss what are the causes of such research and give insights into ways of conducting this search. There are many factors that have caused an increased interest in knowing about one´s building. To begin with, the place you live in, is also part of who you are, and having more information about it could contribute to your personal history. For example, if the apartment you own was built by a famous architect or by a family member, one could be proud of having an important part of the land. Moreover, the research could aid in understanding construction trends of a specific time. Thus, explaining why the house has a particular design. Nowadays there are several pathways to find information about a certain property. Of course, the most convenient would be to do an online search. However, data which are old dated might not be available. In such cases, it could be recommended to visit the town hall or ask previous owners. Additionally, one could ask the construction company, if they are still in business. In conclusion, an increased enquiry about the past of a property is found in certain regions of the world. This could be due to the desire to contribute to the tenant´s personal past or to explain why the house was planned in a certain way. Currently, there are many resources to look this up, such as the internet, previous landlords or even the city´s administrative offices.