Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.Discuss both sides of this argument and give your opinion .

In recent times, the use of computers in academics has been a subject of widespread controversy. While some people suggest that it is a positive development, others say that it can cause adverse effects. In my opinion, the utilization of computers for educational purposes is beneficial as it improves learning. On the one hand, the invention of technology has helped to broaden learning and I agree. The introduction of computers in different schools has enabled students to learn outside their scope of studies because they are able to get numerous information and facts on various topics. As a result, assignments and research works are made easier and accessible at any time. For instance, a survey carried out about two years ago in Ghana among University students, showed that most of them had vast knowledge of their course ever since the introduction of computers. On the other hand, the use of this technology has caused distractions in academics. Most students get carried away by other side attractions such as video games, social media and entertainment apps. This can result in poor grades as students spend most of their time on these apps rather than focusing on the primary aim of computers in their studies. Statistics on a study carried out in Kenya, revealed that there was a recent massive failure recorded among secondary school students due to the frequent use of computer gadgets when studying. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I believe that computers promote vast learning, hence it is a notable useful trend in the educational sector.