There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couples who decide to do this

For years a married couple having offspring was a given. Nowadays, a trend of choosing not to have children is setting. This phenomenon presents advantages and disadvantages that will be presented in this essay. In terms of positives, Firstly the main upside for this decision is economic. when a couple has kids they agree to pour into them all the recurses possible and that implies money which other ways could be invested in other ways. To give an example, a couple without kids will have more money than a family of 3 or 4. Secondly, after having a child the relationship dynamic changes. since a child, especially in the early years, is 100% dependent on the parents the time once dedicated to maintaining the love and respect at the core of the releathiship could slowly erode it. To illustrate, studies show that marriages with offspring is at higher risk to end. In terms of negative, to procreate is a biological need. Human beings have an internal need to spawn kids and to leave a legacy behind them denying it may affect a person in the future in unforeseen ways. For example, studies show childless elderly regret not having someone to carry the family name. Furthermore, some say having children gives purpose. Although presented above as negatively but the change in dynamic and recontextualising of the relationship may improve it by adding a common goal and extra love to it. In other words, some relationship improves by having a child to love and bond through. In conclusion, this trend is here to stay as it has some advantages like more money saved or saving the dynamic as is and some disadvantages like not having a legacy or the added purpose.