To meet the growing needs of food for the increasing population, country should make use of edible insects as foods. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but affect negatively the nature too. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

In the past decade, there has been an increase in the number of people worldwide leading to an increment in food demand. To satisfy those needs, some argue that insects could also serve as meals, This essay will highlight the advantages and disadvantages of eating this kind of animal. There are several merits of consuming insects. To begin with, insects could replace other animals used for several dishes. For example, by having an extra source of protein in our diets, nations would require a reduced amount of cows. Thus reducing the pollution generated by eating red meat. Additionally, the incorporation of a wide diversity of bugs could introduce humans to new kinds of flavours. However, this idea can be as well associated with numerous demerits. Insects are part of a large eating chain, and by killing them one might alter the entire ecosystem. It is still unknown how much damage this may cause to other species that feed on ants for instance. Moreover, some people claim that this type of intake is not nutritious and can even be harmful. This could be the case, when ingesting insects with a hard exoskeleton that humans are unable to digest or some could be even poisonous. In conclusion, the world is thinking of alternative sources of aliment. Some argue that insects could be a solution, since they could be used instead of meat and generate new tastes. However, there are also disadvantages associated such as inducing a change in the bug´s natural habitat and that some could be dangerous to consume.