Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen or pencil. what are the reasons? Is this a positive or negative development?

In an ever-progressive society, innovative technology has made people prefer typing to physical writing, which resulted in the decline in the use of pen and pencil. This situation stems from the convenience of computer typing and legible handwriting. It is the opinion of this writer that this trend has benefited society due to its effective workload-solving. One of the core reasons people lose their interest in physical writing is that typing provides the opportunities to fix the document easier. In other words, an individual can edit the text instantly thanks to the tools of texting software and not leave any marks after finishing editing, whereas handwriting text takes more time to fix and often has marks of erased letters, which will lower the formal appearance of the paper. For instance, most valuable documents, such as laws or contracts, are created by typing rather than writing. Another point worth considering is that typing can reduce the focus on legible writing. To explain further, texted letters would have the default font which is easily accessible to the reader and takes no effort to make them legible. This is a valid point, where some people have difficulty in writing letters clearly and take typing as an alternative choice. Therefore, it is obvious that typing is gradually taking over physical writing. Take the IELTS as an example, where the number of people choose taking the computer-based test has been increasing noticeably in recent times. The typing trend affects society positively by improving the quality of analysing the amount of work. This is because texting software is developed to support users in many approaches and satisfy the demand of solving massive workloads. Thereby, it has been considered by many companies in the world to propel the profit. In conclusion, typing has become a trend in the modern era and replaced physical writing in many aspects of life due to its convenience and less concentration on legible writing. Thus, this trend has benefited society through pushing the speed of solving work in businesses.