Students should choose a university that prepares them for high-paying careers. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It has been pointed out that hunting for a well-paid job is an essential point that determines which university they should attend. Personally, I completely disagree with this idea as individuals’ interests and the social demand are the main elements that decide which major youngsters ought to study. First of all, personal ambitions determine which academic institutions they should participate in. The reason is that if youngsters enrol in a subject that they are not passionate about, they will feel the content is tedious and tough, which is detrimental to their mental conditions. For example, a vast majority of medical students whose parents are doctors present that they were forced to put their names in the medical college of Peking University by their parents as their parents think being a doctor is a well-paid and decent occupation. As they feel the knowledge that they are learning is extremely complex and monotonous, they are less likely to graduate from this college, thus making them incredibly stressed and anxious now. Furthermore, the demand for social advancement should be considered when young individuals choose their majors. This is because becoming professionals in particular areas that local government lacks can help the development of the nation. As a result, countries can experience more economic benefits, and local residents enjoy stable and high-quality lives. For instance, Shanghai experienced a lack of professional accountants about 20 years ago, so a significant number of high school leavers enrolled in economics in order to help the government deal with this dreadful issue. Currently, Shanghai has a countless proportion of financial accountants with a great deal of experience who are able to tackle various economic issues, which results in Shanghai becoming an economic centre in the world and the locals having comfortable lives. In conclusion, many people may vary in their opinion about whether high-paid jobs are a vital factor while young learners choose their universities, while I am of the opinion that their own interests and the needs of society are the main features since they not only are beneficial to individual’s mental well-being but also bring in advantages to the development of society.