Some people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a fixed punishment

Nowadays, since the crime rate is unprecedentedly high, some people propose the introduction of the same punishment for all as the best way to reduce it. Fixed punishment, being a rather debatable measure, has both benefits, including cost efficiency and objectivity at the court, and drawbacks, such as the neglection of circumstances under which an offence is committed. A fixed punishment is considered to be an effective measure when it comes to the money it saves. In other words, the maintenance of the court requires paramount sums of money, so the government, instead of diverting the budget to the development of education or healthcare, spends the money on the sustainment of judges and attorneys. The implementation of one single way of punishing all offenders, however, eliminates the need to maintain the court, so saves a considerable part of the budget. In addition, similar measures taken over all lawbreakers promote justice. What I mean is that criminals who have a better-off income can afford to hire qualified and experienced attorneys, or, sometimes, pay the members of the court for being soft on crime in relation to them. Those, who do not possess wealth, unfortunately, do not have the opportunity. Contrastly, if the punishment that is impossible to alter or shunned, is existent, all criminals, despite their wealth, will sentence for the same length. Despite the previously mentioned positive points, there are disadvantages of having an unchangeable punishment for all that cannot be overlooked. Undeniably, not all crimes are committed under the same conditions, thus it would be unfair imposing the same punishment for a person, who, struggling to meet family responsibilities murdered someone and for an individual, who committed exactly the same offence because of bad temper, or, even worse- boredom. Moreover, as far as the long-term future is concerned, the same measures for all lawbreakers will result in a public uprise, therefore in an even higher rate of crime. Having discussed both positive and negative sides, I terminate by stating that in spite of the advantages of the similar punishment for offenders, drawbacks should not be underestimated.