Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, environmental protection has become a broad issue for the general public. Some people believe that because of the limited power of individuals, the mission of keeping a safe environment is totally relying on the government. I partly agree with this idea. Below I will explain in more detail my reasons behind this perspective. First and foremost, people should recognize that the authority who carries out the role of saving the surroundings acquires better tools than individuals. A very important point to consider is that governments are more capable of protecting the surroundings. In other words, officials have enough resources and power to apply policies and conduct projects to save natural life. For example, the government has the power to apply regulations and has the right to punish anyone who breaks the rules against the habitat as it can prohibit citizens from cutting trees in forest areas, which is something human being cannot do. This leads to a significant improvement in the climate. On the other hand, individuals have a crucial role in protecting the ecosystem and this can be done by reducing harmful activities. To explain more, citizens have a moral responsibility to save the surroundings by practising more habits to protect the environmental system such as reducing the use of plastic materials and using recycled materials instead. For instance, in my country, the public sector puts recycled bins in each corner inside buildings, which are then collected and sent to some environmental agencies for processing. To conclude, protecting the environment is a shared responsibility between politicians and individuals and this can be done by applying regulations and encouraging more environmental habits among people