Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's modern world, there is probably greater access to art than ever before. Nevertheless, the function of craft remains an area of debate with some believing that it provides meaning and purpose to our lives, whilst others feel that it is only a momentary escape from more important issues. My own belief is that craft is fundamental to what makes us human. A first point to consider is that the expression of our lives through craft is one of the few things that separates humans from animals. Man is the only creature who attempts to reflect on his own life through craft forms such as painting. Furthermore, the fact that craft is often taken to mean the work of geniuses such as Picasso does not necessarily mean that craft is only a characteristic of modern man. Ancient cave paintings show that even in primitive times, the expression of the world around was important to humans. In my opinion, this is a strong argument for showing how vital Art is to Man. Some people believe that craft is just a brief distraction from normality. However, one of the major uses of the profession is to lift people's spirits. The songs of slaves provide an example of how music can help people cope with pain. Similarly, paintings and sculptures are often used to remember historical events, keeping them alive in the culture. I believe this reflects a fundamental need to express our existence through craft. To summarize, the craft is something that has been a part of human history for thousands of years and helps society survive difficult times and express its existence. Thus, it is my view that craft is much more than just entertainment: it is one of the defining characteristics of being human.