Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Ever since industrialization started to occur, our world has been dealing with various environmental issues, in which species loss is one of the major concerns. This raises the question of whether the disappearance of breeds is the main difficulty of our generation. As for me, I believe that there are more urgent problems related to the environment that require prior attention. Not all species loss can create heavy impacts on the environment. Every breed is a link to disparate chains. However, unless the links play indispensable roles to others, their disappearance would only cause minor influences and can be easily overcome. Furthermore, the vanishing of plant or animal breeds is partly a natural selection and has been happening forever. Species are extinct if they are not able to adapt to changes in the environment. Accordingly, this phenomenon is not as severe as it may seem. Some environmentalists may suggest that biodiversity loss should be our foremost priority. The reason is that the frequency of species disappearing is increasing rapidly compared to a few years ago. They also assume that, since our kind is also a link to numerous food chains, this would eventually influence us negatively. For instance, if the species extinct is one of our main diets, humans will suffer from extreme food shortages, which can encourage social instability. Although the loss of species has indeed been happening faster, it is still impossible for these incidences to affect people's lives in such straightforward ways. In addition, the reasons leading to the up pace of the disappearances are other environmental problems like climate change or habitat destruction. Therefore, by concentrating on solving other issues, species loss can also be improved and prevented. To conclude, it is unnecessary to consider biodiversity loss as the principal difficulty to the environment. Instead, more efforts should be invested in handling more urgent problems since they also contribute to animals' and plants' extinction. Then, both the environmental issues and the species loss dilemma can be solved.